Third Email Received from US CoS's Legal Agent - 13-Mar-2003

The following text is the contents of the third email (dated 12-Mar-2003) from a USA-based legal firm apparently acting on behalf of the Church of Scientology.

You can also read the first and the second email messages that were received, and the reply email I sent after the second email was received.

In addition, read the next email which referred to my registration of the 'correctscientology.info' domain name.



From AMPaquette@aol.com Thu Mar 13 09:47:16 2003
Return-Path: 
Received: from imo-m02.mx.aol.com (imo-m02.mx.aol.com [64.12.136.5])
        by lios.apana.org.au (8.11.1/8.11.1) with ESMTP id h2CMl6g17179
        for ; Thu, 13 Mar 2003 09:47:08 +1100 (EST)
Received: from AMPaquette@aol.com
        by imo-m02.mx.aol.com (mail_out_v34.21.) id r.112.1fff568b (3964);
        Wed, 12 Mar 2003 17:46:21 -0500 (EST)
From: AMPaquette@aol.com
Message-ID: <112.1fff568b.2ba112bc@aol.com>
Date: Wed, 12 Mar 2003 17:46:20 EST
Subject: Re: Domain Name:  scientology.com.au
To: cd@lios.apana.org.au
CC: AMPaquette@aol.com

Dear Mr. Dewick:

     Thank you for your response.  I am sure you are well aware of the
serious nature of the violations present on your web page, which includes
using our client's registered trademark with pornographic materials and
terrorist threats.  Notwithstanding Apana's input, use of our client's
trademark in this fashion subjects you to liability under Australian law, in
addition to possible investigation by law enforcement personnel.  Moreover,
as a member of Apana you should know that your conduct in this regard
constitutes a blatant violation of Section 2.6 of Apana's Acceptable Use
Policy.

     Accordingly, I reiterate that you immediately cease your use of our
client's registered trademark and transfer it as set forth in the transfer
information I have provided.

Sincerely,
Ava Paquette
Moxon & Kobrin 
3055 Wilshire Boulevard
Suite 900
Los Angeles, California 90010
Tel: (213) 487-4468
Fax: (213) 487-5385


Subsequent to this email being received, the issues involved were raised and discussed at the March 2003 APANA Mangement Committee meeting. As a result of the discussions, changes to the site design and DNS arrangements were made, but the 'scientology.com.au' domain name isn't being given to CoS under any circumstances!

This page has been viewed times.

back to the BSDF Legal Jumble page